The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The inimitably electrifying Aisling Mancy invited me to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop and I couldn’t resist. Authors blog about their favorite thing — their work, specifically their Work in Progress. Enjoy!

1. What is the working title of your book?

One for the Money
2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea is a result of several factors. I love mysteries, detective stories, whodunnits, etc. My brother is an investigator who for years worked as a private dick. And lastly, the family dynamic between myself, my brother, and our mom. Truth truly is stranger than fiction.


3. What is the genre of the book?

Seems I got ahead of myself in the last question, but for those of you who still haven’t had their coffee, One for the Money is a mystery.
4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The main characters are based on me and my brother, so I’d have to say Justin Timberlake and Janeane Garofalo.


5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Hmmm…. well, in an unofficial capacity I guess “a seasoned private detective and his eccentric sister team up to solve a mystery” will suffice.
6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency/publisher?

Represented.
7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Three years. This should not speak to my skill set, mind you. In those three years I put out two other books, wrote extensively for a local rag, and ran a small press.
8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Well, the book has a trifectious tone that consists of Kinsey Millhone, Philip Marlowe, Keye Street, and dare I say it? Nero Wolfe.
9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My love of the genre and all the wonderful fictional detectives who have enriched my life. Also, my family.
10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Harry Gomez, a dry, practical, private eye, goes into business with his sister Lily Gonzalez, who has lived a somewhat off-color life. Hijinks ensue.

Also, Lily is bisexual, which I think is kinda cool.

Stay tuned for my author recommendations, coming later.

Leave a Reply

