The Next Big Thing (Round Deux)

When the enigmatic, talented, and also, very, very sweet, Aisling Mancy asked me to participate in a second round of The Next Big Thing, it was impossible to refuse (no, really — Mancy had me suspended over a pool of electric eels). Actually, this blog Daisy chain is a pleasure to participate in — it gives us writers a break from what we do for hours on end, every single day — surf the web writing. So make sure to follow all the writers tagged in our posts, because you never know…you may just discover the next big thing.

What is the working title of the book?

Well, I am still working on One for the Money as I was last TNBT, so I won’t discuss that one again. As an editor/publisher, I’m working on Permission Granted, an erotic thrillogy by debut author, DJ Storm as well as a follow up to Miami Beat, a mystery published by my small press earlier this year.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

DJ queried me via email and I instantly took to her. She’s new, but she has a sense for characters and intriguing story lines. As for Miami Beat’s sequel (title TBA) Jorge Goyanes (the author and also my dad), had always planned on a series. The first book did well and there was such a clamoring for a follow up, that I agreed.

What is the genre of the book?

Permission Granted is erotica and the sequel to Miami Beat is a mystery novel.

Which actors would I choose to play the characters in a movie rendition?

I’ll leave this up to the authors.

Will the book be self-published or represented by an agency/publisher?

Both books will be published by my small press, Ampersand Editions.

How long did it take me to write the first draft of the manuscript?

My father is very prolific and writes about 837,987,042 words a day, so I believe his manuscript is about done. He started two minutes ago.

DJ is also pretty quick with the words. I may need to drink their blood.

What other books would I compare this story to within the genre?

DJ’s work has a style all its own. Jorge’s work is very similar in tone to Robert Parker’s work.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Permission Granted is an erotic, romantic, kinky romp. MB2 is funny, thrilling, and smart.

Look for The Next Big Thing blog posts from these incredibly awesome authors on or before December 26th:

Jorge E. Goyanes – sleepwalkingthrutheuniverse.wordpress.com

Selena Illyria – selenaillyria.com

Wt Prater – jwasg.blogspot.com/

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing (Round Deux)

  1. Correction: pool of electric eels and snapping piranhas. You weren’t easy to break.

  2. Ily Goyanes says:

    Aw, you’re just saying that. ;)

Leave a Reply

